2014 Melbourne to Warrnambool Route Announced

The 99th Melbourne to Warrnambool Cycling Classic (MWCC) was launched today by Premier Denis Napthine at Parliament House. The 260 kilometre race, which will be held on 11 October, is open to all cyclists and attracts more than 200 entrants every year. Dr Napthine said the Victorian Coalition Government had committed $50,000 each year for the past four years to support the race. ?Last year?s Cycling Classic had a record 235 riders with 29 per cent from interstate and overseas,? Dr Napthine said. About 11,000 people are expected to visit Warrnambool for this year?s event with more than 80 per cent of entrants, officials and supporters staying at least one night and spending about $250. ?The Melbourne to Warrnambool Cycling Classic is a boost for local economies as cyclists race through the towns, followed by spectators and support teams,? Dr Napthine said. Hundreds of volunteers, businesses, service groups? and the media have shown great enthusiasm for the Classic over its 119 year history, ensuring the event?s ongoing prominence. Dr Napthine said a new course was introduced last year that increased the safety of the event and provided a more challenging and technical route for the riders. ?The 2013 race was a great showcase of regional Victoria, with more than 53,000 people watching highlights on SBS,? Dr Napthine said. ?There will be a small course change in this year?s event with Terang being incorporated, capitalising on the beauty of the rural roads and countryside between Werribee and Warrnambool.? First held in 1895, the MWCC is the world’s second oldest one day bike race and is an iconic Victorian sporting event. The 260 kilometre race starts at the Werribee Equestrian Centre and finishes on Raglan Parade in Warrnambool. The event has uncovered some of Australia’s best cyclists ? Joel Pearson (dual winner), Tim Decker (2007 winner) Simon Gerrans, and David McKenzie. It has also had two local Warrnambool winners in Michael Lynch and Jamie Drew. The event holds special memories for Race Director John?Trevorrow, who anticipates an exciting 2014 race. ?With the?Australian NRS series now producing such competitive racing, the 2014?Melbourne to Warrnambool looks set to be one heck of a bike race,? said Trevorrow. ??I have fond?memories of the Warrny although I never managed to win it. I would gladly?swap one of my Sun Tour victories or Australian titles to be able have a Warrny?win on my?palmares.” The Melbourne to Warrnambool is supported by Subaru, SRAM, The Warrnambool Standard, Lady Bay Resort, Vittoria, Premax and Jayco. Images copyright Con Chronis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *