2015 National Road Series Calendar Announced

The 2015 Subaru National Road Series (NRS) will ignite in January with two exciting new women?s events launching Australia?s premier domestic road series onto the world stage. Cycling Australia is pleased to confirm the women?s NRS will expand to ten events in 2015, with two new events in January coinciding with two of Australia?s international races ? World Tour Santos Tour Down Under (TDU) and Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race. ?The introduction of two new women?s events is a positive and critical step forward for the sport, in particular women?s cycling, within Australia,? said Cycling Australia CEO Nick Green. ?As the cycling world turns its eyes towards Adelaide for the first WorldTour event of the year, and then Victoria for the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race, it is fantastic for the Subaru NRS season to be able to share the international stage.? Overall, the 2015 Subaru NRS will feature 57 days of racing across 21 events, with the men?s series to feature 11 events across six states and the nation?s capital. It includes hallmark events the Tour of Tasmania and the 100th edition of Australia?s oldest one-day race, the Melbourne to Warrnambool. Since it?s inception 24 years ago, the NRS has catapulted dozens of local riders onto the world stage, including Richie Porte, Nathan Haas, Robbie McEwen, Sara Carrigan and Katrin Garfoot, and more recently Nathan Earle, Campbell Flakemore and Jack Haig. In 2015, a number of Australia?s world and national champions are also set to return including former Orica-GreenEDGE all-rounder and former Tour de France rider Wesley Sulzberger (Navitas Satalyst Racing Team). Four members of Australia?s reigning team pursuit world champion outfit including 2011 Australian road champion and individual pursuit world record holder, Jack Bobridge and 2012 Subaru NRS champion Luke Davison, will headline the successful continental team Budget Forklifts team. In another major expansion, the 2015 NRS could feature six Australian continental teams, up from three in 2014. CharterMason Giant Racing Team, search2retain-health.com.au, Navitas-Satalyst Racing Team and Data#3 Symantec Racing Team have submitted applications to the UCI for upgraded licenses, while Team Budget Forklifts and African Wildlife Safaris are expected to have their status renewed. Six-time NRS champion team Avanti Racing will next year have their continental license registered in New Zealand. The women?s field will see the return of Australian national team member Taryn Heather (Bicycle Superstore), who has spent the past four years abroad, and her return comes as Lizzie Williams (Specialized Securitor) and Chloe McConville (Jayco/Apollo/VIS) depart to join the Pro ranks of Orica-AIS in 2015. ?The Subaru National Road Series has proven to be a tremendous breeding ground for Australian cycling success for so many years, and it is fantastic to see the quality of events and riders continue to strengthen,? added Green.

2015 Subaru National Road Series – Events

Men?s Series: Woodside Tour De Perth: 26-29 March Jayco Adelaide Tour: 9-12 April FKG Tour of Toowoomba: 21-24 May Battle on the Border: 28-31 May Tour of the Murray River: 28 Jul-2 August Tour of the Great South Coast: 12-16 August Tour of Gippsland: 2-6 September National Capital Tour: 18-20 September Tour of Tasmania: 6-11 October Melbourne to Warrnambool: 17 October Grafton to Inverell: 24 October Women?s Series: Santos TDU Women?s Tour: 17-20 January Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race Women?s Elite Race: 31 January Jayco Adelaide Tour: 9-12 April Mersey Valley Tour: 1-3 May (Women and Juniors) Battle on the Border: 29-31 May Tour of the Murray River: 31 July-2 August Sam Miranda Tour of the King Valley: 21-23 August Amy?s Otway Classic: 13 September National Capital Tour: 18-20 September Tour of the Goldfields: 23-25 October

2015 Subaru National Road Series – Snapshot

57 Days of racing 6 states, 1 territory 27 days of women’s racing 43 days of men’s racing 11 Men’s events 10 Women’s events 4 dual Tours (men and women) More than 500 men’s and women?s riders Over 45 men’s and women’s teams Text via Cycling Australia Media Release

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top