Alex Edmondson & Ashlee Ankudinoff Lead Omnium National Championships In Melbourne

Peloton Cafe || 2015 Australian Omnium Championships - Alex Edmondson
Peloton Cafe || 2015 Australian Omnium Championships – Alex Edmondson (image copyright Cycling Australia)
Alex Edmondson (SA) and Ashlee Ankudinoff (NSW) lead the race for national omnium honours after three from six rounds in the event held on Thursday at the Darebin International Sports Centre in Thornbury, Melbourne. Men’s recap Reigning national champion Edmondson, 21, holds a narrow lead from Queensland?s Daniel Fitter with three rounds remaining at the 2015 Omnium National Track Championships. Edmondson, the team and individual pursuit world champion, had a consistent first day of competition, finishing third in the individual pursuit behind Fitter and fourth in the scratch race before showing his class in the eliminator where took out round three comfortably ahead of Jackson Law (NSW). Miles Scotson (SA) posted a blitzing time in the individual pursuit while three-time omnium national champion Glenn O?Shea (SA) was first across the line in the scratch race. With three rounds remaining, Edmondson sits eight points ahead of Fitter and O?Shea who are in equal second place. Women’s Recap In the elite women?s event, Ankudinoff looks poised to win her third national omnium crown with the 24-year-old leading the event at the half-way mark.
Peloton Cafe || 2015 Australian Omnium Championships - Ashlee Ankudinoff
Peloton Cafe || 2015 Australian Omnium Championships – Ashlee Ankudinoff (image copyright Cycling Australia)
Ankudinoff took out the opening round scratch race and finished second in the individual pursuit and eliminator. 10 points in arrears is dual-junior track world champion Macey Stewart (TAS) with Georgia Baker (TAS) currently in third after claiming the eliminator round. Alexandra Manly (SA) was the fastest against the clock in the pursuit and sits in fourth position. Under 19 Recap In the under 19 men?s omnium, Tasmania?s James Robinson holds a slender two-point lead ahead of South Australia?s Rohan Wright despite not yet winning a round. Cameron Scott (NSW) claimed both the scratch race and a crash-marred?eliminator while it was Wright who was fastest in the individual pursuit. In the under 19 women?s event, Chloe Moran (SA) made an inspired comeback from finishing second last in the opening event scratch race, to win the next round ? the individual pursuit. However the battle for the national championship remains firmly between Danielle McKinnirey (SA) and Brooke Tucker (QLD) with just two points separating the pair. Bridget Mullany (NSW) sits in third position after winning both the scratch race and the eliminator, outsprinting Danielle McKinnirey (SA) to the line comfortably on the final lap of the elimination race. The two-day event, held on Thursday 18 and Friday 19 December at the?Darebin International Sports Centre Velodrome?in Melbourne?s inner north, pits riders against each other in a test of speed and endurance over six events.? Four national titles will be decided in the men’s and women’s elite and under 19 categories. Text via Cycling Australia Media Release

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top