Allford leads after the first round of the Winter Road Series


The 2016 Winter Road Series, presented by Cycle Closet, kicked-off on Saturday 2 April at Port Adelaide Cycling Club?s Hector Fletcher Road Race at Mt Pleasant.

Thomas Allford of Van D?am Racing claimed the victory, excelling him to the top of the WRS leader-board with 16 points.

The peloton contained some of the best road riders in Australia, not just the State. With the likes of Mitch Mulhern, Chris Harper, and Tom Kaesler (finished second overall in the CIC Cervelo Super Series) all in the peloton, all the riders knew it would take a fast-paced race to breakdown some of the riders? legs.

Early in the proceedings, at around the 10km mark, a large split occurred in the field. The riders worked well together to hold the bunch off, which ended up splitting 60km into the race.

Chris Harper was one of the most aggressive riders in the peloton, attacking on multiple occasions throughout the final 20km of the 100km Road Race.

At the end of the day, Harper couldn?t achieve the break he needed to shake the likes of Tristan Jones, Shaun Lewis, and the eventual winner, Thomas Allford.

The final dash to the line resulted in a Round 1 win for Thomas Allford, followed by Mitch Mulhern in second and Shaun Lewis in third.

Allford was stoked with the result, heaping praise on the sponsors of Van D?am Racing.

“This series means a lot to the team as Lachie Ambrose (Team Manager) helped get it off the ground so it was great that I could pay back some of the effort he has put in,? Thomas said.

?At the same time, rewarding our sponsors for their support is also fantastic. As a new team in 2016, we are really determined to start things off in the right direction.”

Round 2 of the men?s WRS will be taking place at Adelaide Cycling Club?s Peter Stevens Road Race on Saturday 30 April following the cancellation of the Allan Smith Road Race.


Winter Road Series, Round 1 ? Overall GC

Rider ?????????????????????? Points
Thomas Allford16
Mitchell Mulhern14
Shaun Lewis12
Chris Harper10
Tristan Jones8
Tom Kaesler7
Jack Hogan6
Jack Sutton5
Harry Carpenter4
Joshua Harrison3
Matthew Benson2
Tom Chapman2
Matthew Gassner2
Karl Evans2
Daniel Gale2
Liam Lawlor2
Shaun Cash2
Liam Nolan2
Lachlan Ambrose2
Angus Dickson2
Cameron Spears2
Ethan Egglestone2
Braden O’Shea2
Jarrad Drizners2
David Fumpson1
Christopher Hale1
Callum Pearce1