Australia & NZ Share Spoils In Adelaide On Opening Night Of Oceania Track Championships

Twelve finals were decided on the opening evening session of the 2015 Oceania Track Championships in Adelaide, with Australia and New Zealand sharing the spoils across the team pursuit and sprint, the 500m and 1km time trials, and the scratch races. Team Sprint In the women?s team sprint, Kaarle McCulloch and Stephanie Morton (AUS) took gold after clocking at time of 33.661 seconds to defeat New Zealand?s Stephanie McKenzie and Katie Schofield (34.431). The VIS/ACTAS duo of Catherine Gulvenor and Caitlin Ward just took the bronze medal home in 34.587 seconds over of SASI riders Rikki Belder and Breanna Hargrave (34.934). Australia?s Matthew Glaetzer, Shane Perkins and Dan Ellis battled New Zealand?s Matthew Archibald, Edward Dawkins and Sam Webster for the men?s title, with Ellis unfortunately falling in the first lap after his rear wheel slipped from under him. Fortunately however he avoided major harm, with Glaetzer and Perkins fighting hard over the two remaining laps back to finish only 0.20 seconds behind New Zealand who improved on their qualifying time to win in 44.254 seconds.. In the junior men?s event, the Australian team of Derek Radzikiewicz, Conor Rowley and Cameron Scott won gold in a time of 47.081 seconds. New Zealand trio Hamish Beadle, Sam Buckner and Campbell Stewart claimed the silver medal in 48.974 seconds, while the VIS/ACTAS team of Stephen Ellul, Elliot Stacey and Jarrod Wilson took bronze (49.194). Time Trial New Zealand collected the top two spots on the women?s 500m time trial podium after Katie Schofield took gold (35.309) and compatriot Stephanie McKenzie (35.378) the silver. South Australian Rikki Belder was third in 35.556secs. In the men?s 1km time trial, Matthew Archibald (NZ) took his second gold of the night with a winning time of 1min 1.942 seconds. Alexander Radzikiewicz (1:03.583) narrowly edged Braeden Dean (1:03.679) to deliver Australia the silver and bronze medals. Junior sprint world champion Courtney Field (AUS) was victorious in the under 19 women?s 500m time trial in 35.716 seconds. Western Australian Tahlay Christie took silver (36.042) and Emma Cumming from New Zealand the bronze (36.712). Team Pursuit New Zealand?s women took out the team pursuit with the quartet of Lauren Ellis, Jaime Nielsen, Racquel Sheath and Georgia WILLIAMS crossing the line in 4mins 31.404 seconds ahead of the Australian team of Georgia Baker, Lauren Perry, Rebecca Wiasak and Elissa Wundersitz (4:34.972). The ACTAS team of Emily McRedmond, Alexandria Nicholls, Allison Rice and Kimberley Wells road strongly to win the bronze medal, almost catching the under 19 Australia A team to finish in 4mins 44.628 seconds to take bronze. The men?s team pursuit final was a closer affair than the time split suggested. New Zealand?s Cameron Karwowski, Aaron Gate, Westley Gough and Marc Ryan got off to a very strong start, taking almost two seconds on the Australian team in the first two kilometres. Daniel Fitter, Tirian McManus, Callum Scotson and Sam Welsford rallied in the latter half of the race to finish strongly in 4mins 02.887 seconds, over five seconds faster than the New Zealand squad (4:08.341). Scratch Races In the under 19 women?s event Michaela Drummond (NZ) jumped from the pack with two laps to go and held on to win ahead of Australians Nicola MacDonald and Danielle McKinnirey. Perhaps inspired by Drummond?s exploits Rebecca Wiasak (AUS) attempted to follow suit in the elite women?s event by jumping off the front with three laps remaining. It was not to be, and she was caught before the line, finishing in third. It was an all-Australian podium as Ashlee Ankudinoff beat Kimberley Wells in a photo finish to take gold. In the men?s final, event Scott Law (AUS) was not to be denied as he powered through the sprint, opening up a bike length on Alexander Porter and Nicholas Yallouris in an Australian clean sweep. Other Events Campbell Stewart (NZ) extended his lead in the elimination event of the under 19 omnium (120pts) over Australia?s Alex Rendell (109) and New Zealand?s Tom Sexton (102). In the junior men?s pursuit, South Australian Rohan Wight successfully defended his gold medal in 3mins 21.157secs ahead of James Robinson from Tasmania (3:25.880) and Victorian Thomas McDonald (3:28.906). Text via Cycling Australia Media Release

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top