Australian Junior Worlds Track team announcment

NEWS | Australian team for 2016 UCI Junior Track World Championships

Cycling Australia is pleased to announce a 13-rider team for the 2016 UCI Junior Track World Championships to be held from 20-24 July at the UCI World Cycling Centre Velodrome, in Aigle, Switzerland.
The team includes six returning 2015 representatives including dual reigning world champion in the team pursuit and Madison Kelland O’Brien (VIC), team pursuit silver medallists Nicola Macdonald (NSW) and Brooke Tucker (QLD), team sprint medallists Conor Rowley (VIC) and Cameron Scott (NSW, plus newly crowned triple national champion in the sprint, keirin and 500m time trial Tahlay Christie (WA).
Seven riders, including two in their first year at the under 19 level, will make their debut including dual national champion Jade Haines (WA).
Others set to make their debut include national champions Godfrey Slattery (VIC) and Harrison Lodge (SA), plus national championship medallists Kristina Clonan (QLD) and Ruby Roseman-Gannon (VIC).
Hayden Dicocco-Grant (TAS) and Thomas McDonald (VIC) also received the nod following standout performances at the Nationals.
Overall, Victoria received five selections – Kelland O’Brien, Godfrey Slattery, Thomas McDonald, Conor Rowley and Ruby Roseman-Gannon. New South Wales (Cameron Scott and Nicola Macdonald); West Australia (Jade Haines and Tahlay Christie) and Queensland (Kristina Clonan and Brooke Tucker) have two riders. Tasmania with Hayden Dicocco-Grant and South Australia Harrison Lodge have one.
Australia finished the 2015 championships in Astana with 12 medals the most of any of nation; four gold, five silver and three bronze.
Under 19 Men
Hayden Dicocco-Grant (17, TAS)
Harrison Lodge (16, SA)
Thomas McDonald (18, VIC)
Kelland O’Brien (17, VIC)
Conor Rowley (17, VIC)
Cameron Scott (18, NSW)
Godfrey Slattery (16, VIC)
Under 19 Women
Tahlay Christie (17, WA)
Kristina Clonan (17, QLD)
Jade Haines (16, WA)
Nicola Macdonald (17, NSW)
Ruby Roseman-Gannon (17, VIC)
Brooke Tucker (17, QLD)
The Australian Commonwealth Games Association’s Gold Coast GOLD 2018 Team Preparation program will help to ensure that Cycling Australia’s cyclists receive the best access to training and competition opportunities, equipment and world-class athlete support services in the lead up to the Games.