Simon Gerrans Wins Sir Hubert Opperman Medal

Simon Gerrans has added the ‘Oppy Medal’ to his impressive resume, with the Victorian cyclist claiming his maiden Sir Hubert ‘Oppy’ Opperman Medal & Trophy at the Jayco 2014 Australian Cyclist of the Year Awards in Melbourne on Friday night. It was a triple celebration for the Mansfield cyclist as he also claimed Elite Male Road Cyclist of the Year Award and the Subaru People’s Choice Award following thousands of online votes by cycling fans throughout October. “It?s a huge honour to win the Oppy and have my name alongside previous winners like Russell Mockridge, Cadel Evans, Anna Meares and Caroline Buchanan who have all done great things for cycling in Australia,” said Gerrans, 34. “And it’s really nice to be recognised in this way, particularly with so many people in the room who have been such an important part of my career.” A stellar 2014 from Gerrans kicked off in Australia in January when he claimed his second career win at the Road National Championships in Ballarat, before claiming overall honours at the Tour Down Under for a third time. Gerrans then became the first Australian to win the Li?ge-Bastogne-Li?ge, and the first cyclist in history to do the double at the Canadian World Tour races, winning both the GP Cycliste de Quebec and GP Cycliste de Montr?al. Gerrans then capped the year with a silver medal in the men’s road race at the UCI World Championships in Spain. “There are so many people who helped me get started in cycling, coaches through my development in the state and national programs and, of course, my teammates who have been crucial in my success this year,” said Gerrans, the only Australian cyclist to have both worn the yellow jersey at the Tour de France and win a stage of each of the three Grand Tours (Tour de France, Giro d’Italia and the Vuelta a Espa?a). “I’m glad I get to share it with all of them because it wouldn’t have been possible without their support.” Cycling Australia also announced a Tour ‘Team of the Century’ during the night – regonising 2014 as the 100th anniversary of Don Kirkham and Iddo ?Snowy? Munro becoming the first Australians to ride the Tour de France – headlined by Cadel Evans and Sir Hubert Opperman. Complete List of all Award Winners Sir Hubert Opperman Medal ? Jayco Australian Cyclist of the Year Simon Gerrans (VIC) Subaru People?s Choice Simon Gerrans (VIC) SBS Elite Road

  • Male Simon Gerrans (VIC)
  • Female Tiffany Cromwell (SA)

italktravel Glynde Elite Track

  • Male Alex Edmondson (SA)
  • Female Amy Cure (TAS)


  • Male Jared Graves (QLD)
  • Female Janine Jungfels (QLD)

AIS Under 23 Road Male Caleb Ewan (NSW) King & Wood Mallesons Junior Cyclists Junior Cyclist of the Year Macey Stewart (TAS)

  • Junior Track Male Sam Welsford (WA)
  • Junior Road Male Michael Storer (WA)
  • Junior Track Female Macey Stewart (TAS)
  • Junior Road Female Macey Stewart (TAS)
  • Junior MTB Male Max Warshawsky (QLD)
  • Junior MTB Female Tegan Molloy (NSW)

APC Elite Para-cycling

  • Female Jayme Richardson (NSW)
  • Male Alistair Donohoe (VIC)

Cycling Australia Domestic Coach of the Year

  • Warren McDonald (QLD)

Cycling Australia International Coach of the Year

  • Tim Decker (Track – Men’s Endurance)

Mitchelton Masters Cyclists Overall Gary Mandy (NSW)

  • Road Male Stephen Fairless (VIC)
  • Track Male Gary Mandy (NSW)
  • Road Female Laurelea Moss (QLD)
  • Track Female Jessica Laws (VIC)
  • MTB Male Garry James (ACT)
  • MTB Female Catherine Kelaher (ACT)

Australian Tour de France Team of the Century

  • Riders for the general classification ? Cadel Evans, Phil Anderson
  • Domestiques to support general classification riders ? Richie Porte, Michael Rogers
  • Sprinter ? Robbie McEwen
  • Leadout men for the sprinter ? Brad McGee, Mark Renshaw
  • All rounder ? Simon Gerrans
  • Team captain ? Sir Hubert Opperman

Subaru NRS winners

  • Joe Cooper
  • Ruth Corset
  • Avanti Racing
  • Holden Women?s Cycling

Cycling Australia Merit Award? CJ Farquharson Subaru Australian Club Premiership Caulfield Carnegie CC Norm Gailey Trophy ? Champion State Victoria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top