Two Silver For Australia On Day 1 Of London Track World Cup

Australia claimed two silver medals on the opening day of the UCI Track World Cup in London on Friday. Melissa HOSKINS (WA), Amy Cure (TAS), Ashlee Ankudinoff (NSW) Isabella King (WA) and Rebecca Wiasak (ACT) pushed Great Britain all the way to claim silver in the women?s team pursuit. Nathan Hart (ACT), Shane Perkins (VIC) and Matt Glaetzer (SA) also claimed silver in the men?s team sprint. It was a close call for Anna Meares (SA) and Stephanie Morton (SA) who narrowly missed bronze in the women?s team sprint. It was a devastating result for Australia’s men?s team pursuit squad, with the reigning World and Commonwealth champions and World Cup leaders on track for a spot in the gold medal final before a puncture to Luke Davison (SA) took the team out of contention in round one. Women?s Team Pursuit – Silver As the third last starters Melissa HOSKINS, Amy Cure, Ash Ankudinoff and Bella King posted the then fastest time of 4mins 23.498secs, by nearly five seconds. The time was only narrowly beaten by Great Britain with 4mins 23.406secs.Australia faced Canada in the semi final – with Rebecca Wiasak stepping in for King – and they easily advanced to the gold final in 4mins 24.504secs over Canada. King came back in for the final getting the team off to a fast start and holding the lead for much of the first two kilometres before Great Britain came back in the second half to claim gold in 4mins 22.194secs over Australia in 4mins 24.335secs. “Happy and disappointed at the same time,” said Melissa HOSKINS. “We are happy because we brought back a five second deficit back to two seconds in two months.? We are on the right track. “Disappointed as always when you don’t win gold, especially in London, but I think I our time will come. “We will take the positives out of this trip as we have to be happy with what we have done.? We will take silver for now, but we are certainly looking at that top step.” Canada claimed bronze. Men?s Team Sprint – silver Nathan Hart, Shane Perkins and Matt Glaetzer sprinted to the second fastest qualifying time of 43.832secs. Only Germany was able to go faster in 43.700secs. In the final Hart, Perkins and Glaetzer posted a time of 44.113secs to claim silver behind Germany in 43.665secs. Bronze went to New Zealand in 43.713secs. Men?s Team Pursuit Reigning world champions Luke Davison (SA), Alex Edmondson (SA), Mitchell Mulhern (QLD) and 2014 junior world champion Callum Scotson (SA) flew around the track to post a time of 4mins 0.577secs to qualify fastest. Setting up a first round heat with New Zealand. Scott Sunderland (WA) replaced Scotson for the first round ride. After a strong start disaster struck, after dropping down to three riders Luke Davison suffered a puncture and put in an impressive display to hold it up. Under the new qualifying rules the winner of the heat between Australia and New Zealand would advance to the gold final. As would the winner of Great Britain and Denmark, with the two fastest teams of the remaining six then riding for bronze. Unfortunately with the puncture impacting Davison, Australia was unable to finish its run and set a time. The result saw Australia relegated down to the ride off for seventh and eighth. Brushing off the disappointment of round one Davison, Edmondson, Mulhern and Scotson put in a strong ride to win the 7-8th final in 3mins 59.637secs. The only team over the three rounds to post a time under four minutes. Gold went to Great Britain ahead of New Zealand while Denmark finished with bronze. Women?s Team Sprint The duo of 2009-2011 team sprint world champion Anna Meares and reigning Oceania champion Stephanie Morton qualified with the third fastest time of 33.130secs. A close finish in the final saw Meares and Morton finish in 33.487secs to just miss bronze to Russia in 33.429secs. Gold went to China and silver to Germany. Text via Cycling Australia media release

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top